Sowore says Nigeria has been 'ruled by morons' who don't think

Sowore says Nigeria has been ruled by morons since Obasanjo

The presidential candidate has vowed to jail past leaders who looted the country blind.

A candidate for the 2019 presidential election, Omoyele Sowore, has dismissed many of Nigeria's past leaders as 'morons' who don't think.

The presidential candidate made the remark while speaking at the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, on Tuesday, November 6, 2018, as he took digs at former president, Olusegun Obasanjo, as well as incumbent, President Muhammadu Buhari.

He said, "Starting from Obasanjo's administration, we have been ruled by morons. Our leaders don't have intellect, they don't think.

"A man who is looking for his certificate at 76 is an idiot. How can you be looking for a certificate that is with Cambridge in WAEC?"

I'll jail looters – Sowore

The Sahara Reporters publisher, running for president on the platform of the African Action Congress (AAC), also vowed to jail past leaders who have looted the country.

He said he'll not spare any leader whose greed had put the nation in jeopardy and vowed to recover loot from living and dead looters.

He said, "I will be clear about fighting corruption. If we find out that someone stole 20 years ago, we will jail the person even if he only has a day left to live.

"If you are collecting Abacha's loot, you should be collecting Obasanjo's loot, you should be collecting Babangida's loot. Loot is loot!

"If we can collect money from Abacha who is dead, why can't we collect our looted money from Obasanjo and Babangida who have embezzled our money while they were in government I will probe them all.

"Over the years, Nigerians have been serving the greedy. I think it is the time to serve the needy, we need to draw line to say enough is enough."

ALSO READ: Atiku is coming back to create a paradise for thieves – Sowore

2019 presidential election

The 2019 presidential election, sceduled for February 16, 2019, is billed to be closely-fought between President Buhari of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar, of the People's Democratic Party (PDP).

Alongside Sowore in the chasing pack is Donald Duke of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Kingsley Moghalu of the Young Progressive Party (YPP), Fela Durotoye of the Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN), and Oby Ezekwesili of the Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN).

Others are Tope Fasua of the Abundance Nigeria Renewal Party (ANRP), Eunice Atuejide of the National Interest Party (NIP), Olusegun Mimiko of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Adesina Fagbenro-Byron of the Kowa Party (KP), Chike Ukaegbu of the Advanced Allied Party (AAP), Hamza Al-Mustapha of the People's Party of Nigeria (PPN), Obadiah Mailafia of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), and many more.

79 candidates will contest in the election, the highest number ever in Nigeria's electoral history.

Source: politics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *